Perceptions

When I was going to start a blog, I asked my 16 year old daughter which one I should use. I had heard of tumblr but she told me that in her opinion it wasn’t suitable for her mum writing about her uni course. She said something like, “It’s a photo site, people just upload photos  and add captions. It’s for hipsters, teenagers, alternative types, cult things. It’s not really for lots of writing in a news article style. It’s twitter for photos.” My husband disagreed, not least because he chose tumblr to create his band blog. Perceptions are a minefield. How important are they? I suppose it depends who you are trying to reach with your blog. At the moment, I’m not too sure if I’m trying to reach anyone but I went for a WordPress blog in the end.  I thought it might suit me better. But in reality, I have no idea.

Leave a comment